Photography newbie here!

edited July 2011 in advice
OK...so I started in the the wonderful world of photography. What an expensive world this is. I am getting the hang of things. I was wondering if any of you can give me advice on what websites are good for tutorials of editing, great deals on lenses, tips and tricks to learn from, perfecting the framing of a shot, etc. I am working with lightroom3 and am shooting with a Nikon D90. Overwhelm me with your advice....please!

Comments

• edited 2:58PM
    The d90 is a sweet camera, although i upgraded to the d7000.

What lenses are you using?
  • edited July 2011
    ditch the zoom lenses and get a nice little 30mm - you'll not take it off :)

//edit//

the one i had in mind was the sigma 30mm 1.4ƒ - great little lens on a budget.
    ignore chris :D

lensd choice is all about what you are more comfortable with try a prime and a telephoto - i dislike primes because of limit in range, telephotos are better choice - I'm using a nikkor 18-135mm
  • edited July 2011
    chris said...ditch the zoom lenses and get a nice little 30mm - you'll not take it off :)

//edit//

the one i had in mind was the sigma 30mm 1.4ƒ - great little lens on a budget.
    middigit said...ignore chris :D

lensd choice is all about what you are more comfortable with try a prime and a telephoto - i dislike primes because of limit in range, telephotos are better choice - I'm using a nikkor 18-135mm

If you're going the zoom route and want to learn don't zoom! ...choose the focal length before you put the camera to your eye.

Primes are great, especially when you've got a lovely wide aperture like chris is suggesting...

Don't look at the screen on the back all the time, shoot and shoot and review later...

:)
    The kit lens should be plenty to learn and play with - don't worry about lenses yet I'd suggest, it's all I learned with
    What? There's more to photography then point and click? Daaaam